Home

Insightful read!

 

200px-Thompson

Thought Catalog

1. George Orwell

Four great motives for writing:

  1. To be talked about, to be remembered after death, to get your own back on grown-ups in childhood, etc.
  2. To take pleasure in the impact of one sound on another, in the firmness of good prose or the rhythm of a good story.
  3. The desire to see things as they are, to find out true facts and store them up for the use of posterity.
  4. The opinion that art should have nothing to do with politics is itself a political attitude.

2. Joan Didion

I write entirely to find out what I’m thinking, what I’m looking at, what I see and what it means…In many ways writing is the act of saying I, of imposing oneself upon other people, of saying listen to me, see it my way, change your mind. It’s an aggressive, even hostile act. (via)

View original post 3,740 more words

Leave a Reply

